ICFF Studio

Applications for 2018 will open in November 2017. 

For 30 years, ICFF remains the top North American platform to experience the future of global design, today. As part of its commitment to discovering “what’s new, what’s next,” ICFF continues its 12th year partnership with Bernhardt Design to bring the next crop of emerging designers shaping design to the forefront through the juried ICFF Studio competition.

“The selection process was extremely difficult for ICFF and the Bernhardt Design team this year,” said Kevin O’Keefe, ICFF Event Director. “The response to be named as part of the 2017 ICFF Studio class was overwhelming with hundreds of submissions from around the world.”

To enter the competition, a designer must have a working prototype that is not in commercial production. All submissions were reviewed by established industry professionals, allowing those recognized by the ICFF Studio program to stand in a class of their own. Entries are judged on design aesthetics, the ability to be economically mass produced, marketability and commercial viability.

Read the full press release

Studio has been a career catalyst for a number of past participants, including well-known designers, Brad Ascalon, Viable London, Chris Adamick and Nolen Niu, who manages his Los Angeles based studio and showroom. Numerous publications have featured the work presented at ICFF Studio, including Business Week, Fast Company, ID, Metropolis, The New York Times, Surface, and Wallpaper.

Congratulations to the ICFF Studio 2017 class:

  1. Peidian Cai – Settle Table – Pasadena, CA, USA
  2. Studio Foy-  Siri Line and Guro Sorbo Midtun Pusle Benches – Oslo, Norway
  3. Guilherme Wentz – Tela Chair – Sao Paulo, Brazil
  4. Yi-Chieh Wang – Moon Table – Pasadena, CA, USA
  5. Kendra Kirchner – Drawer Table – Miami, FL, USA
  6. Ruoxi Wang – Loop Desk – San Francisco, CA, USA
  7. Aiden Bowman & Josh Metersky – Janus Table Lamp – Brooklyn, NY, USA
  8. Tom Skeehan – Hup Hup Chair – Canberra, Australia
  9. Xiaotong Wang – Product TBD – Pasadena, CA , USA
  10. Refaeli Ma – Leira Lounge Chair – Beijing, China